Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Queenie
Community Elder

An Update From Me

Hi there friends!

It's been a little while since I was last a regular contributor of the forums, I thought I'd better do a little bit of an update to catch y'all up to where I'm currently at.

As you all know, I graduated from Dip. Community Services late last year, followed by a stint in hospital for about a month where my antipsychotic medications were altered and I was put voluntarily on a new depot injection. This has worked well and I am now voice free since December.

I've had another stint in respite in order to curb depression and the ol' black dog (put him back in his kennel so to speak). It was only for a week and it allowed me to refresh and regroup. Now my mental health is once again considered 'stable'. 

I've started my next course Dip. Youth Work with the same institution as my previous diploma. I am really enjoying it so far but, as it's an external course by distance education this time, I am finding it difficult to keep motivated and on track each day. It's something I really must strive to be better at.