Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Lise07
Senior Contributor

Hospital without Private Insurance

Good evening everyone,

As of late (and particularly last week) my SH/SI has become a bit out of control. Today my psychologist said that I could consider going inpatient for a little while, and think of it as a "break".

I've never done this before and was wondering how it would work when I don't have private health insurance. I could get it, but I know there's usually then a waiting period of a couple of months before accessing services. I don't know if that will work. I'm worried I'm not unwell enough to be admitted into the public system. I'm publicly functional most of the time and don't intend/plan on ending my life, but when I'm in a bad state I'm reckless and don't really care how dangerous I'm being.

Does anyone have any insight?

30 REPLIES 30

Re: Hospital without Private Insurance

Hi @Lise07 

You are correct as far as. I know with private. Public system should assess you and then admit you if. Needed. Your. Pysch should be able to. Give you a reference I would have thought. Better to. Go. In sooner rather than later in my opinion.

I. Can't write much now, but hopefully others. Can. Assist and make suggestions.

Take care and wish you all the best  ❤️❤️🌻🌻

Hi @Lise07 ,

im not sure what state you live in. It’s different in different states. The ndis has changed things a bit. Before there were mh respite places that anyone could attend without cost. Most of them are now only for those with ndis funding but it’s possible there are still some that are for general public.