Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Yep
Casual Contributor

Aspie Parent at High School - Getting the family placed

It was always going to be a challenge to support my neurotypical children in high school.  Why should it be any less challenging then when I was a student.  The first issue was determining the school that would suit my children alongside supporting my Aspie parenting needs.   The school that would best suit these considerations needed some guidance.

I asked an educational psychologist after an assessment of me and my children's personal styles.  I was found I had two very different children.  Th eldest was effervescent and the other cautious and guarded.  The educational psychologist informed me that there was only one school that would meet my criteria and the personal styles of my children.  It is a zoned school and  I was outside the zone.  After checking this by visiting both our neighbourhood school and the zoned school, the psychologist was correct.

I made an out of zone application to the school suggested by the psychologist and was rejected.  I made an appeal to the school with medical certificates and evidences yet was rejected again.  I made a formal appeal to the region and was accepted under special circumstances as a resonable adjustment for disability.